To know the history of the Bharatiya Janata Party

To know the history of the Bharatiya Janata Party, one has to know the history of the parties built on that ideology, whose foundation had already been laid before the BJP. The Bharatiya Janata Party was formed in 1980, but before that in 1951, Shyama Prasad Mookerjee separated from the Congress and formed the Bharatiya Jana Sangh. However, in the 1952 Lok Sabha elections, the Jana Sangh got only 3 seats.


After this, the struggle of Jana Sangh continued and when former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi imposed an emergency in the country, Jana Sangh intensified its voice against the Congress. Now after the end of the Emergency, the form of Jana Sangh changed and they formed the Janata Party along with other parties.

This party won the 1977 Lok Sabha elections and Morarji Desai was made the Prime Minister. However, Desai had to withdraw within three years and then the people of Jana Sangh formed the BJP in 1980 itself.

When the Bharatiya Janata Party was formed, Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the president at that time. During the 8th Lok Sabha elections held in 1984, the BJP got the right to contest the national elections. In this election, only two seats came in the account of BJP, but the journey had started which has reached its destination today. Or rather, the journey started by Atal and Advani, Narendra Modi and Amit Shah completed the work of taking them to the destination.

The journey from 2 seats to 303 seats

Two seats in the 1984 elections, 85 seats in 1989, and the Ram Mandir wave in 1991 gave the party 120 seats. Even after this, the party’s seats continued to increase. 161 seats in 1996, 182 seats in 1998. After this, in the year 2014, under the leadership of Narendra Modi, BJP created history. The party got 282 Lok Sabha seats. At the same time, by winning 303 seats in 2019, BJP has fed lotus everywhere.

Who was the national president of the party when

When the party was formed, Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the first national president. After this, in 1986, former Deputy Prime Minister LK Advani was made the national president of the party. In 1991, senior leader Murli Manohar Joshi was elected as the National President of BJP. In 1993, once again LK Advani was elected as the President of the party. For the second time, this post was assigned to Advani. Meanwhile, senior leader Kushabhai Thackeray was elected the president of the party.

In the year 2000, Bangaru Laxman was elected the President of BJP. In 2001 K. Jana Krishnamurthy was elected president of the party. 2002 Union Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu was elected President of the party. In 2005, Union Minister Rajnath Singh was elected the national president of the party. 2010 Union Minister Nitin Gadkari was elected as the National President of BJP. In 2013, Rajnath Singh was elected the national president of the party for the second time. After this, Amit Shah was given this responsibility in the year 2014 and then after the historic victory in the year 2019, now he is the Home Minister, then JP Nadda has been made the President.

BJP government was formed for the first time in the 11th Lok Sabha elections

During the 11th Lok Sabha election in 1996, the BJP performed brilliantly, winning 161 seats. BJP emerged because the single largest party during this election.The party benefited from this spectacular performance and Atal Bihari Vajpayee was made the Prime Minister of the country. However, Atal Bihari Vajpayee remained in this post for only 13 days. He had to step down from the post due to water not proving the majority.

Atal government lasted 13 months in 1998

In the 12th Lok Sabha elections of 1998, BJP further improved its performance. This time 182 seats came into BJP’s account. Once again Atal Bihari Vajpayee was elected as the Prime Minister. This time too, the BJP government formed by the alliance of other parties could last only 13 months. After this, in 1999, the BJP government formed again completed its full term.

a crushing defeat in 2004

BJP got a crushing defeat in the 2004 Lok Sabha elections. In the 14th Lok Sabha elections in 2004, the BJP had to face a crushing defeat. Only 138 seats came in the party’s account. While in the next ie 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the party suffered further losses. In the 15th Lok Sabha elections of 2009, BJP got only 116 seats.

Historic victory in 2014 Lok Sabha

The BJP achieved a historic victory in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. In the 16th Lok Sabha elections of 2014, the BJP won 282 Lok Sabha seats under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Amit Shah was elected the national president of the party. The party formed a coalition government with the PDP for the first time in Jammu and Kashmir. After this, with an even bigger victory in the year 2019, BJP created history by capturing 303 seats.

Today the popularity of PM Modi is in the whole world. Party Now Jan Sangh leader Syama Prasad Mookerjee’s dream of ‘One Desh-Ek Nishan-Ek Vidhan-Ek Pradhan’ has been fulfilled by removing 370 from Jammu and Kashmir. Now the party talks of Hindutva, nationalism.

Previous article18 Wickets In Two Matches, This Bowler Jumped 10 Places In The Ranking :ICC Test Ranking
Next articlemirror of the past: history of the country’s oldest party ‘Indian National Congress’


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here